AU Mildura table grapes

The board of the Australian Table Grape Association (ATGA) has appointed acting chair Jeremey Boyd as its new chair, ending the search for John Argiro’s replacement.

Argiro resigned as chair and board member of ATGA in July 2020 following breaches to grower licence agreements.

Meanwhile, Irymple grower Rocky Mammone has been appointed as deputy chair, and Sunraysia Table Grape Growers Association president Dominic Sergi was nominated by the regional grower association to be a Victorian delegate on the ATGA board.

Boyd is a former Robinvale & District Table Grape Growers Association chair (current committee member) and has an interest in encouraging Australia’s next generation of industry leaders.

Boyd welcomed Sergi to the ATGA board and Mammone to the role of deputy chair.

“It’s great to see an increasing number of second and third generation growers taking on leadership roles and striving for the industry’s long-term sustainability,” he said. “I look forward to working with the ATGA board to achieve the best outcomes for growers.”

As the ATGA’s new deputy chair, Mammone will be focused on improving protocols and market access for table grapes, as well as building a sustainable industry so future farming families can thrive.

He has been a delegate of the ATGA board for two years, and a board member of the Sunraysia Table Grape Growers Association since 2015.