Award winners recognised at Australian Citrus Congress gala dinner  

Citrus Australia’s Annual Awards have recognised outstanding achievements and contributions made by members of the Australian citrus industry.

Greg and Sue Chislett

Greg and Sue Chislett

The awards were presented at the gala dinner, held at the end of the inaugural Australian Citrus Congress on 5-7 March. The three-day event was attended by some 420 industry members and also included a main conference program, tradeshow-style exhibition and biosecurity symposium.

The prestigious Hall of Fame Award was presented to recently retired Queensland grower, Nick Ulcoq, along with husband-and-wife team Greg and Sue Chislett of Chislett Farms.

Ulcoq played a significant role in the response to the citrus canker outbreak in Emerald in 2004. He was also a leading hand in the successful transition from the Australian Citrus Growers model to the current format of Citrus Australia.

Greg and Sue Chislett’s interest in budwood and varietal development has turned a small, second-generation orchard into a thriving third-generation citrus operation, which includes a highly successful container nursery business.

Nick Ulcoq

Allen Jenkin

Malcolm Smith of the Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries (QDAF) took home the Service to Industry Award, acknowledging his tireless work as one of the world’s leading citrus breeders.

Allen Jenkin of Ironbark Citrus was presented with the Value Chain Innovator Award, recognising, amongst other achievements, his 15-year varietal development journey with the Royal Honey Murcott mandarin.

Ben Knispel won the Emerging Leader Award, recognising his role in the evolution of his family’s multi-generational business, Nippy’s Waikerie Producers.

“This year’s award recipients epitomise the values and characteristics that make our industry a world leader – whether that be through their dedicated service, eye for detail or willingness to innovate,” said Citrus Australia chief executive Nathan Hancock . “Congratulations to all our winners – it’s recognition well deserved.”