Kuehne+Nagel continues to expand its presence in Africa, where it is now present in 18 countries and plans to further increase its footprint in the first quarter of 2022.

It manages its growing network of offices from a control tower in Durban, South Africa, which serves as a single point of customer contact for the region.

“This allows for complete visibility across the network, including remote locations, while ensuring Kuehne+Nagel's global service standards; supervising data quality, enabling shipment visibility and managing cargo flow,” the company said.

“With this expansion, Kuehne+Nagel provides its customers better access to African markets and while offering African manufacturers specialised and industry-specific solutions to meet soaring demand in markets such as pharma & healthcare, perishables, emergency & relief and project logistics.”

Sub-Saharan Africa plays an increasingly significant role in worldwide trade as it is home to more than one billion people, half of whom will be under the age of 25 by 2050.

Kuehne+Nagel has been actively present in Africa for almost seven decades after opening its first office in Johannesburg in 1954.

It said its expanded Africa network is fully vetted and audited by an external global auditing company to ensure ongoing adherence to the highest level of compliance and ethical standards. It provides the full range of international services including air, sea, road and contract logistics to address the demands of the African continent.

'Africa is blessed with natural resources and a young entrepreneurial population. Now is the time to unlock this potential and create growing, thriving economies. There are many elements to this, one being the logistical ability to connect global markets for end consumers and suppliers,” said Lee l’Ons, president of Kuehne+Nagel Middle East and Africa.

“With the new control tower in Durban, we are ready to address this great African opportunity.”

The company is now present in 18 African countries: South Africa, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Egypt, Angola, Namibia, Madagascar, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Mozambique, Mauritius, Botswana, Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal and Rwanda.