Winners go on to be state-endorsed nominees at National Horticulture Awards for Excellence held during Hort Connections 2024 

South Australia’s top horticulture growers, researchers and industry leaders were recognised at the 2024 Premier’s Horticulture Awards for Excellence, held by state industry group Ausveg SA, which celebrates leaders across the state’s A$3bn horticulture sector.   


(l-r) Angelo Demasi, president of the HCSA; Jack Cafcakis, winner of Young Grower of the Year; Clare Scriven, minister for primary industries and regional development

Image: Andrew Beveridge

The event marks the second time the awards have been held as the Premier’s Horticulture Awards, which was renamed following a commitment by the Premier of South Australia, Peter Malinauskas, at the 2022 election to support the Awards.  

Over 300 growers, members of parliament, researchers and industry leaders came together to celebrate this year’s winners at a gala dinner held at the National Wine Centre on 17 May, which was formally opened by Malinauskas and the minister for primary industries and regional development, Clare Scriven.   

The winners of the 2024 Premier’s Awards for Excellence were:  

  • Frank Musolino, Musolino Farms, Grower of the Year  
  • Jack Cafcakis, Cafcakis Nominees, Young Grower of the Year 
  • Joe Giangregorio, Rainbow Fresh, Lifetime Achievement Award  
  • Anita Marquart, Biological Services, Industry Impact Award  
  • Doris Blaesing, RMCG, Researcher of the Year
  • Alecia Leav, PN Leav , Women in Horticulture Award  
  • Paul Pezzaniti, Platinum Ag Services Biosecurity Award 

The winners will be nominated as the Ausveg SA state-endorsed nominees for their respective categories at the National Horticulture Awards for Excellence, to be held during the Hort Connections 2024 conference in Melbourne on 7 June.  

Ausveg SA chief executive Jordan Brooke-Barnett said that winners of the Premier’s Awards were tightly contested and represented a bright future for industry in a challenging year. 

“We are fortunate to have such a strong field of award winners in our state whose commitment to industry and tireless work is growing the contribution of our A$3bn sector to the state economy which plays a vital role in feeding Australia,” he said. 

“I thank the Premier and minister for supporting this year’s awards and wish all our state winners luck at the National Awards in June.”