LSA charitabletrusscheme

Fresh produce charitable organisation the LSA Charitable Trust has announced six new fellows will join its two-year leadership programme.

Ant Surrage of Fargro; Isobel Tickner from Tozer Seeds; Bardsley’s Robert Wickham; Lauren Hladun, Manor Fresh Ltd; Dave Malcolm, Boningale Ltd; and Jed Knaggs from The Summer Berry Company were selected to join the LSA Fellowship scheme, which aims to develop the future leaders of the commercial horticulture industry.

The new Fellows will take part in meetings, conferences and study tours which will broaden their exposure to the horticulture industry. They will see first-hand the role played by trade bodies and their associated committees in the development of industry strategies and communications with government. And they will increase their knowledge of current research and increase their ability to evaluate the possible impact this will have on the industry.

Several of the LSA Fellowship Scheme steering group interviewed the applicants in February and selected the six Fellows for the 2021 cohort.

NFU horticulture adviser Rupert Weaver said: “It was great to be involved with the interview process for this important programme. The calibre of applications was brilliant and their cumulative passion and drive for horticulture shone through during our online interviews. Choosing only six candidates to offer the Fellowship was a challenge.”

The managing agent for the Scheme, Coral Russell said: “The Fellowship provides an excellent opportunity for up-and-coming executives in the horticulture industry to widen their perspective, create a network and equip themselves for a future role in leadership of the industry. These are exciting and challenging times for horticulture, and I think the Fellows will be vital in shaping our sector for the future.”

As Covid restrictions continue to ease, the 18 Fellows currently on the scheme will be able to return to the scheme’s usual activities: attending conferences, grower association meetings and other industry events.

The Fellowship is supported by the National Farmers Union, British Growers Association, The Horticultural Trades Association, the Chartered Institute of Horticulture and Agricultural and Horticultural Development Board.