HAB has elects a new executive committee to support 2021-2025 strategic plan 


HAB 2024 executive committee 

The Hass Avocado Board (HAB) has announced its newly elected executive committee board members for the 2024 board year.  

Producer Bob Schaar from Simpatica will act as chairperson with Jamie Johnson, also a producer from Simpatica as vice chairperson. Importer Chris Henry from the Giumarra Companies will act as treasurer and Gwen Jackimek, an importer from Del Monte Fresh Produce will act as secretary. 

“Collectively this executive committee has over 70 years of experience working in the avocado industry,” Schaar said.  

“We are excited and appreciative of this opportunity to lead discussions and decision-making that will help the entire industry better address industry challenges and opportunities.” 

HAB also acknowledged Jorge Hernandez, CJ Shade, Susan Pinkerton, Ben Van Der Kar, Peter Shore, Kimberlin Brown Pelzer and Will Carleton for their dedication and service as they exit the board. 

“The executive committee plays a significant role in helping HAB successfully meet the goals of the 2021-2025 strategic plan,” said Emiliano Escobedo, executive director of HAB. 

The board meets quarterly to discuss and set business goals consistent with the mission and vision of HAB, including maintaining and expanding demand for avocados in the US.  

Uniquely, board meetings have international representation from importer groups to promote problem-solving, data sharing and collaboration on key global topics including volume trends and sustainability practices.  

HAB also enables programmes run by California and importer associations that benefit specific countries of origin.